seven sisters

Pleiades star cluster, aka Seven Sisters

The Pleiades are a group of more than 800 stars located about 410 light-years from Earth in the constellation Taurus. Also known as the “Seven Sisters” and Messier 45, the object derives its English name from Greek legend. The Pleiades are the seven daughters of the Titan god Atlas and the ocean nymph Pleione.
The Pleiades – or Seven Sisters – are the 45th entry in Messier’s Catalogue and one of the most famous collections of stars in our night sky. “Diamonds on black velvet,” as Pete describes them. This video features John Hurst (Nottingham Astronomical Society), Pete Lawrence (astronomy expert and broadcaster) and Paul Crowther (University of Sheffield)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s